International Women’s Day 2013

I’m not sure how I feel about the need to have an International day to promote women’s rights … part of me feels like we should have gotten to a place of equal rights a while ago.

However, on my recent visit to India, I was up close and personal with the fact that girls around the world are still denied basic educational opportunities that boys receive as a matter of course.

Some of the lucky school girls in New Delhi that gave us the warmest greetings and widest smiles of our visit to India.

The disparity in male/female literacy rates in developing nations is shocking … and in the end, only serves to undermine a country’s efforts to move its citizenry out of poverty.

For a well-articulated reason why educating girls is a global need, visit The Girl Effect and check out the video that explains how girls are the agents of change.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *