Back to School Advice

First day of school, 1967 in Brussels, Belgium.

First day of school, Brussels 1967.

cross posted at Education Is My Life

I was recently asked to provide back-to-school advice for teachers. I could go on at some length … indeed, I did just that last week when I provided a 2-hour keynote address at nearby district’s in-service.

However, my teaching philosophy can really be summarized by four key points – which is a good thing, because what teachers really want right now is to get back into their classrooms and get ready for their students.

  1. Find a way to make kids feel as if they belong in your community of learners.
  2. Encourage them to do challenging things and support them when they struggle.
  3. Always think about what you could possibly do a little better next time (no matter how good it was the first time).
  4. Wash, rinse, repeat.

Have a great year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *